General English
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
General English
Databases (Find Articles and Reports)
Gale Biography in Context 
Get biographical information about prominent authors and critics. Includes the latest full text newspaper, journal articles, pictures, and multimedia files.
Google Scholar @ UWest 
Use the power of Google to search for books, articles, and online resources. Access via UWest to incorporate our full text database resources.
👩🏫 Short 5 min. tutorial on accessing library resources with Google Scholar: PDF, Video. If you encounter an error such as "ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key" or any of the other functions/features of Google Scholar, then use the personalized Google Scholar setup instead.
Non-Uwest patrons: Alternative access.
JSTOR (Collection I-VII)
Contains articles from journals such as College English, College Composition and Communication, and American Literature.
LitFinder
Over 140,000 full-text poems, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 1,700 full-text plays, and 2,400 full-text speeches.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes access to the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
ProQuest Research Library (All ProQuest)
Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes all ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest PsycTests, PsycARTICLES, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)
Related Books
English Grammar: Language as Human Behavior by Anita K Barry 
"Anita K. Barry's ENGLISH GRAMMAR makes students feel that they are active participants in shaping their language rather than passive victims of grammar rules..."
